Library services are available to all currently registered KCC students, faculty, and staff. A valid KCC ID Card is required to borrow circulating books and to request materials from the Reserves, Hawaiian, and journal backfile collections.
Persons who are not associated with the University of Hawaii and who are at least 18 years old may apply for Community User library cards that will entitle them to limited library services as listed on Appendix II of this chart (PDF).
Borrowing Books and Other Materials
Search the KCC Library Catalog, Hawaii Voyager, to find the Location and Call Number of the books you need, then locate the books on the shelf and bring them to the Circulation Counter with your KCC ID Card. Most Library Collections can be borrowed, but some books are non-circulating and can only be used in the library.
Circulating books normally may be borrowed for 28 days. However, items in certain high-demand collections have 14-day loan periods or less. Please confirm the loan period for all materials by reading the date stamped on the Date Due slip in each book borrowed. Login before the due date to your Hawaii Voyager Account to request Renewal of books you have borrowed.
In general, KCC library follows the Circulation Policy (PDF) established by the Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System.
Returning Borrowed Materials
Borrowed books may be returned to a staff member at the Circulation Counter, or through the indoor book drop slot under the Book Return sign at the Circulation Counter. After hours, books may be returned through the outside book drop on the right side of the main entrance.
As of January 1, 2003, KCC Library follows the UH System Libraries Policy on Loans, Fines, and Fees. Please note especially:
- Regular Fines: $.25 per day, per item.
- Special permission loans and loans from special collections: $.50 per day, per item.
- Media Fines: $1.00 per day, per item.
- Recall Fines: $.50 per day, per item.
- Reserve Fines: $1.00 per hour or fraction thereof.
- Audiovisual and Reserve items must be returned to the library from which they were borrowed by the date and time indicated.
- Fines for overdue items are assessed every day (hourly for Reserve items) including weekends and holidays.
- Borrowing privileges will cease if financial obligations owed to the UH System Libraries total $10 or more.
Overdue fines are due and payable upon return of the overdue books. If fines are not paid when the overdue books are returned, the fine will be posted in the student's record in the College's Business Office. Registration for future semesters will not be permitted, and grades, graduation certificates, degrees, and transcripts will not be issued until all library fines are paid.
A book is automatically marked as LOST by the library system when its overdue fine reaches $10.00. (10 days after the due date for items at $1.00 per day; 20 days after the due date for items at $.50 per day; 40 days after the due date for items at $.25 per day.)
There is a flat replacement fee of $60.00, plus a non-waivable $10.00 processing fee and the $10.00 accumulated overdue fine ($80.00 total). The $60 replacement fee may be waived at the library's discretion if the book is returned in good condition within one year of its lost status. If not paid, the charges will be added to the student's record in the Business Office, resulting in the same sanctions listed above.